The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Joseph Ghartey Ampiah presenting an award to a deserving staff

UCC Honours Staff

Ten staff members of the University have been honoured for their commitment and dedication to their duties at the Third Staff Awards Ceremony.

The 10 staff comprised one senior member, four senior and five junior staff members.  

Speaking at the function, the Director of Human Resource, Rev. Isaac Baafi Sarbeng, explained that the ceremony was held to honour and appreciate deserving staff who distinguished themselves in their work in 2018. He noted that it was befitting to single out the Staff Awards from the Send-off and Long Service Awards for retirees in order to give the needed recognition to hard working staff who were still in active service.

Rev. Sarbeng indicated that the Staff Reward and Recognition Committee received 35 nominations for the 15 awards categories and at the end of the selection process, 10 were recommended for their high performance, dedication to duty, hard work, good interpersonal relations, among others. He said there was another category for Vice-Chancellor’s Special Award.

The Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Joseph Ghartey Ampiah, who chaired the ceremony, said it was appropriate to honour people for their dedication and commitment to work. He expressed joy that the award scheme featured more junior staff adding that “The fact that the Junior Staff category is higher than the other categories means that every staff in the University was noticed”. He advised staff present at the ceremony to continue to be committed and develop positive attitude to their work. “You need to collaborate, work and support each other in the dispensation of your duties in your various directorates, departments, sections and units,” he noted. He congratulated the awardees on their recognition and urged them to continue with with their good services towards positioning UCC as the University of competitive choice.

Each of the awardees was presented with a plaque, certificate and a cash of GH¢3, 000. The awardees for the ceremony were


Mr. Alfred Attafuah

Directorate of Human Resource

Promising Administrator


Mr. Farouk Moomin Umar

Directorate of Public Affairs

Distinguished Administrator

Mr.  Lemuel K. Koranchie

Works/Maintenance Section

Promising Technician

Mrs. Stella Affutu

School of Allied Health Sciences

Promising Administrator


Mr. Joseph Mensah         

Fire Service Unit

Distinguished Driver

Mr. Joseph Afful              

Works/Maintenance Section

Distinguished Technician

Ibrahim Alhaji                 

Campus Broadcasting Service Centre

Distinguished Clerk

Mr. John Agyei                

Superannuation Hall

Distinguished Labourer

Miss Patience Adomah   


Department of Physician Assistant

Promising Clerk


Mr. Vincent Appolley

Grounds and Gardens

Vice-Chancellor’s Award